Regions and Facilities


HHSC is comprised of five regions that make up the HHSC system. These regions are East Hawaii, West Hawaii, KauaiOahu, and Maui*. Systemwide, HHSC has over 50 affiliation agreements with educational institutions that provide training and residency programs for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare clinical and business professionals.

*Pursuant to Act 103 (2015 SLH), on July 1, 2017, HHSC transferred the management and operation of its three (3) Maui hospitals to Maui Health Systems, A Kaiser Foundation Hospitals LLC (“MHS”). HHSC leases the land and the buildings to MHS under a thirty (30) year lease.


HHSC operates 847 licensed beds in facilities located on four different islands. In Fiscal Year 2018, HHSC hospitals: provided a total of 13,016 acute care admissions, 575 long-term care admissions, 77,398 long-term care patient days; delivered 1,872 babies; and handled 75,456 emergency room visits (excluding inpatient admissions).


  • Kahuku Medical Center: A critical access hospital and long-term care facility in rural Oahu
  • Ali’i Community Care Inc. dba (1) Roselani Place providing assisted living on Maui, and (2) Ali’i Health Center: a physician practice in Kona
  • Hawaii Health Systems Foundation


Map of HHSC facilities displaying locations of West Kauai Medical Center, Samuel Mahelona Memorial Hospital, Maluhia, Leahi Hospital, Kohala Hospital, Hale Ho'ola Hamakua, Hilo Benioff Medical Center, Kona Community Hospital, and Ka'u Hospital